Cycling in Tohoku

Hi, I’m Carlos ! Como vai voce ?

I originally planned to travel to Switzerland for my summer vacation this year, but changed my mind to go to Tohoku area where the tourism industry is way down after the earthquake and Tsunami hit those places.  I brought my folding bike as it is much easier to travel by a train, as we have to put in a bag (we call it a “Rinko Bag”.) when we take our bikes into a train.

On the first night I stayed at Togatta in Miyagi prefecture. They are famous as a hot spring town and also not very far from famous Zao hot spring town. A doll standing by me on the photo is “Kokeshi” doll which is a wooden folk art, traditionally made in the northeastern region of Japan.  (Kokeshi /wikipedia)

Besides Togatta, I also traveled to Sendai, Matsusima and Hiraizumi that was recently registered as the World Heritage Site. I found the enjoyment of cycling  every place I visited, and I wish the area’s earliest recovery from bottom of my heart!

Tohoku is a major production area of rice. Ears of rice are freshly green. So beautiful.

Leave a Reply

