Seven Gods of Good Luck (“七福神めぐり”)

Visiting temples and shrines is one of Japanese major customs during New Year period. If you are more religious, or if you would like to enjoy new-year’s atmospheres more, how about trying “Shichifukujin Meguri”, pilgrimage of seven Gods of good luck?

“Shichifukujin Meguri” is to visit seven temples and shrines in a single neighborhood to pay your respects to the Shichifukujin (the Seven Deities of Good Luck) to pray for success and safety for you and your family. In Tokyo, there are over a dozen of groups of religious sites dedicated to the seven deities. On the 2013 New Year’s day I visited Yanaka Shichifukujin (“谷中七福神”) which are said to be the oldest Shichifukujin groups in Tokyo. I bought a piece of paper for the seals at the first temple and collected the seven seals of the Gods!


Yanaka Shichifukujin welcome visitors until January 10.

Other famous Shichifukujin Groups in Tokyo are :
Nihonbashi Shichifukujin (Chuo-ku), Yamate Shichifukujin (Meguro-ku), Sumida Shichifukujin (Sumida-ku), etc.


Published by tokyocycling

Tokyo Great Cycling Tour started in 2006, showing around the city on the saddle by local guides. Offering seven different courses.

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: